3°C
Vorarlberg

Germany/Lake Constance

Along the German side of Lake Constance history, art and culture meet beautiful sceneries, always with a view of the vastness of the lake. It is a farming region for fruit and vegetables, it has sunny slopes with grapevines and baroque cultural monuments from an eventful past, it is a region full of delights and enjoyment.

  • Along the German side of Lake Constance history, art and culture meet beautiful sceneries, always with a view of the vastness of the lake. It is a farming region for fruit and vegetables, it has sunny slopes with grapevines and baroque cultural monuments from an eventful past, it is a region full of delights and enjoyment.
  • One of the classic day-trip destinations for visitors of all ages is the flower island of Mainau – and is a must-see for those interested in botany. It would be a shame not to see the rare plants and trees you can find growing on the island.
  • The baroque pilgrimage church in Birnau dates back to records from the ninth century, although it wasn’t built in this location until the 14th century. Today, it is considered a historic jewel on the north shore of Lake Constance.
  • Salem monastery and castle combine a private grammar school with boarding school and a mighty Cistercian Abbey with impressive grounds, surrounded by lovely day-trip destinations.
  • Affenberg Salem is home to around 200 Barbary apes that can be fed by visitors young and old – under the guidance of a member of staff. Remember though – all the other wild animals on the Affenberg deserve just as much love and care.
  • The UNESCO list of World Cultural Heritage sites contains 111 structures on stilts found around the Alps, with one of them lying right next to the shore of the lake in Unteruhldingen, constructed such that it protrudes into the lake. A true-to-life museum provides an introduction into the life of its inhabitants.
  • The small medieval town of Meersburg on the shore of the lake is home to many sights, vineyards and interesting museums, including Meersburg Castle, which was one of the most important centres in the early Middle Ages, also serving as the residence of poetess Droste von Hülshoff at a later date.
  • The new Meersburg Castle is a splendid edifice where the prince bishops of Constance once resided. The panorama view is second to none. Both the gardens and the interior are worth visiting.
  • A flying utopia, a multi-media museum and the history of the “Hindenburg” – a day spent in the Zeppelin Museum in Friedrichshafen leaves its mark, especially on visitors interested in technology.
  • Numerous Dornier airplanes, models and other exhibits can be found in the Dornier Museum in Friedrichshafen, with a light installation by James Turrell crowning the museum hangar designed by architects.
  • Starfish, seahorses, rays and sharks are all at home in Constance, and can be seen up close in an underwater tunnel in Sea Life Konstanz.
  • Ravensburger Spieleland delights the kids for days – before they get there, while they join in the many attractions, and even after they have left.
  • One of the largest private collections in South Germany is located in Ravensburg Kunstmuseum. Its changing exhibitions and its architecture make it well worth a visit.
  • Constance, right next to the border with Switzerland, is the largest town on Lake Constance, and the location of the famous ecclesiastical council which sat between 1414 and 1418. Constance experienced the first and only election of the pope north of the Alps. The historic old town has been largely preserved and full of modern life.
  • “The island on which lime trees grow” – is what the name of the listed island seems to mean according to a medieval code. It forms the centre of Lindau and sometimes even the centre of an international flock of guests, such as when the Nobel laureates meet up every year. Even Michel de Montaigne mentioned the town in his travel journal.
  • In its early days, Friedrichshafen was a popular place of transhipment for trade with Switzerland, whereby the small town grew and became wealthy. It is Count Zeppelin which made Friedrichshafen famous – the successful technology company still determines the town’s reputation.
  • The ultimate fairy tale castle stands above the Hohen Schwangau: Neuschwanstein Castle attracts visitors from the four corners of the earth, with queues forming in front of its gates every day. This has a lot to do with the legendary figure of its commissioner, Ludwig II, as well as with the Disney film Cinderella, whose castle is based on Neuschwanstein.

Along the German side of Lake Constance history, art and culture meet beautiful sceneries, always with a view of the vastness of the lake. It is a farming region for fruit and vegetables, it has sunny slopes with grapevines and baroque cultural monuments from an eventful past, it is a region full of delights and enjoyment.

17°C
Vorarlberg

Vierländerregion

Deutschland/Bodensee

Entlang des deutschen Bodenseeufers treffen Geschichte, Kunst und Kultur auf herrliche Landschaften, immer mit dem Blick auf die Weite des Sees. Es ist Anbaugebiet für Gemüse und Obstsorten, es ist Sonnenhang mit Weinreben und barocke Kulturdenkmäler aus einer bewegten Geschichte, es ist eine Region voller Genuss und Erlebnis.

  • Eines der klassischen Ausflugsziele für jedes Alter ist die Blumeninsel Mainau – für botanisch Interessierte ist sie allerdings ein Muss. Es wäre schade, die seltenen Pflanzen und Bäume der Insel zu verpassen.
  • Die barocke Wallfahrtskirche Birnau geht zurück auf Aufzeichnungen aus dem 9. Jahrhundert, wurde allerdings an diesem Standort im 14. Jhd. erbaut – heute gilt sie als geschichtsträchtiges Juwel am Nordufer des Bodensees.
  • Kloster und Schloss Salem vereinen ein privates Gymnasium mit Internat und eine mächtige Zisterzienser-Abtei mit beeindruckender Klosteranlage, umgeben von wunderbaren Ausflugszielen.
  • Auf dem Affenberg Salem wohnen etwa 200 Berberaffen, die von den großen und kleinen Besucher/innen gefüttert werden dürfen – unter Anleitung der Mitarbeiter. Alle anderen Wildtiere am Affenberg verdienen aber ebenso liebevolle Zuwendung.
  • 111 Fundstellen von Pfahlbauten verzeichnet die UNESCO Weltkulturerbe-Liste um die Alpen, eine davon liegt am Seeufer in Unteruhldingen, in den See hinaus gebaut. Ein lebensnahes Museum führt in das Leben seiner Bewohner/innen ein.
  • Das mittelalterliche Städtchen Meersburg am Seeufer bietet viele Sehenswürdigkeiten, Weinhänge und interessante Museen. Auch die Burg Meersburg ist eine davon, sie war eines der bedeutenden Zentren des frühen Mittelalters und diente später als Wohnsitz der Dichterin Droste von Hülshoff.
  • Das neue Schloss Meersburg ist ein Prunkbau, in dem die Fürstbischöfe von Konstanz residierten. Der Panoramablick ist kaum zu überbieten, sowohl der Besuch des Gartens als auch der Innenräume lohnt sich.
  • Eine fliegende Utopie, ein multimediales Museum und die Geschichte der „Hindenburg“ – ein Tag im Zeppelin Museum in Friedrichshafen bleibt nicht ohne Spuren, zumindest bei technikinteressierten Besuchern.
  • Zahlreiche Dornier-Flugzeuge, Modelle und sonstige Exponate befinden sich im Dornier Museum in Friedrichshafen – eine Lichtinstallation von James Turrell krönt den von Architekten geplanten Museumshangar.
  • In Konstanz wohnen Seesterne, Seepferdchen, Rochen und Haie – in einem Unterwassertunnel im Sea Life Konstanz sind sie ganz nah zu erleben.
  • Das Ravensburger Spieleland bringt Kinderherzen tagelang auf Hochtouren – vor dem Besuch, während der vielen Attraktionen zum mitmachen und danach.
  • Eine der größten Privatsammlungen Süddeutschlands befindet sich im Kunstmuseum Ravensburg, das wegen der wechselnden Ausstellungen ebenso sehenswert ist wie auch seiner Architektur wegen.
  • Konstanz, direkt an der Grenze zur Schweiz gelegen, ist die größte Stadt am Bodensee,  und ehemals Ort des berühmten Konzils von 1414 bis 1418.  Konstanz erlebte die einzige Papstwahl nördlich der Alpen. Die historische Altstadt ist weitgehend erhalten und voller modernem Leben.
  • „Die Insel, auf der Lindenbäume wachsen“, das scheint der Name der unter Denkmalschutz stehenden Insel zu bedeuten, laut einem mittelalterlichen Codex. Sie bildet das Zentrum von Lindau und manchmal auch das Zentrum einer internationalen Gästeschar, etwa wenn jedes Jahr die Nobelpreisträger tagen. Selbst Michel de Montaigne erwähnte die Stadt in seinem Reisetagebuch.
  • Zu Beginn war Friedrichshafen ein begehrter Warenumschlagplatz für den Handel mit der Schweiz, wodurch die kleine Stadt wuchs und reich wurde. Graf Zeppelin brachte Friedrichshafen zur Berühmtheit, die erfolgreichen Technik-Unternehmen bestimmen noch heute den Ruf der Stadt.
  • Über der Hohen Schwangau steht das Märchenschloss schlechthin: Schloss Neuschwanstein zieht Besucher/innen aus aller Welt an, täglich bilden sich die Warteschlangen vor den Toren. Das hat viel mit der sagenumworbenen Figur seines Erbauers, Ludwig II zu tun, aber auch mit dem Disney-Film Cinderella, dessen Schloss nach dem Vorbild von Neuschwanstein gezeichnet ist.