Karrenseilbahn

Panoramawanderung: Dornbirn Talstation – Dornbirn Karren

A popular hike with views across the Rhine Valley, Lake Constance and the Swiss mountains, including a stop at the Panoramarestaurant Karren.

The hike up Dornbirn’s local mountain (976 m) starts at the cable car’s valley station. Hikers on their way up may choose between taking a steeper route or the family trail. The way up takes hikers through the forest and is therefore ideal on hot summer days because of the shade that the trees offer. The Karrenkante at the top provides panoramic views far beyond the borders of Vorarlberg. The Panoramarestaurant Karren is located at the Karrenseilbahn’s mountain station. The restaurant serves regional dishes and refreshing drinks. It’s also possible to combine the hike with a cable car ride, for example, to return to the valley.

Author tip

Viewing platform with selfie point at the Karrenseilbahn’s mountain station.

Details

Difficultymoderate
Technique
      
Stamina
      
Experience
      
Landscape
      
Highest point967 m
Lowest point455 m
Best time of year
JanFebMarAprMayJun
JulAugSepOctNovDec
Safety information

112 Emergency Call

Turn-by-turn directions

The well-signposted hike starts directly behind the cable car’s valley station (464 m). It takes hikers across the Dornbirner Ache from where there is an immediate right turn up the steep Oberbürgle Forstweg (Forest Path). Then it takes hikers over the Bürgle to the wayside shrine Bildstöckle (710 m). This is where hikers may choose between the shorter but steeper route straight ahead or turn left to use the family trail. The trails join again further up and continue across Kühberg up to the mountain station (976 m). Hikers may return the same way or take the cable car down to the valley. The cable car runs every 15 minutes until 11.00 p.m., even until midnight on Fridays and Saturdays.

Public transport
accessible by train and bus

Country bus No. 47

City bus No. 7 from Dornbirn railway station to the Karrenseilbahn (cable car)

The No. 8 travels from the exhibition grounds to the Karren (from 1 May to 31 October)

www.vmobil.at

Getting there

Travelling from the north from the direction of Munich or from the south from the direction of Innsbruck on the A14 Rheintal-Autobahn, take the Dornbirn Süd (Exit 18) and then leave the roundabout and head towards Dornbirn-Zentrum (Dornbirn Centre) on the L204 Lustenauer Strasse, straight across the crossing with the L190 B-road, follow the signs and after approx. one kilometre you’ll arrive at the cable car’s valley station.

Parking

Charged car parking directly at the cable car’s valley station

Equipment

Firm footwear recommended

Author: Bodensee-Vorarlberg Tourismus
Tour-Quickfacts
Difficulty
moderate
Distance
3,4 km
Duration
01:20h
Ascent
512m
Descent
3m

Karren Dornbirn

Karren Dornbirn

GPX KML
Tour-Quickfacts
Schwierigkeit
mittel
Strecke
3,4 km
Dauer
01:20h
Aufstieg
512hm
Abstieg
3hm

Eine beliebte Wanderung mit Blick auf das Rheintal, den Bodensee sowie die Schweizer Berge inkl. Einkehrmöglichkeit im Panoramarestaurant Karren.

Die Wanderung auf den Hausberg von Dornbirn (976m) startet bei der Talstation der Karrenseilbahn. Bergauf kann man sich zwischen einem steileren Weg oder einem Familienwanderweg entscheiden. Die Wanderung führt durch den Wald und ist somit ideal an heißen Sommertagen, da die Bäume Schatten spenden. Oben angekommen bietet die Karrenkante einen Rundumblick weit über die Grenzen Vorarlbergs. Auf der Bergstation der Karrenseilbahn befindet sich das Panoramarestaurant Karren. Das Restaurant bietet regionale Gerichte sowie erfrischende Getränke. Die Wanderung kann ebenfalls mit einer Seilbahnfahrt kombiniert werden, beispielsweise um zurück ins Tal zu kommen.

Autorentipp

Aussichtsplattform mit Selfie-Point auf der Bergstation der Karrenseilbahn.

Details

Schwierigkeitmittel
Technik
      
Kondition
      
Erlebnis
      
Landschaft
      
Höchster Punkt967 m
Tiefster Punkt455 m
Beste Jahreszeit
JanFebMärAprMaiJun
JulAugSepOktNovDez
Sicherheitshinweise

112 Euro-Notruf (funktioniert mit jedem Handy/Netz)

Wegbeschreibung

Die gut beschilderte Tour startet direkt hinter der Talstation der Karrenseilbahn (464m). Wir überqueren die Dornbirner Ache und es geht nach rechts sofort steil bergauf am Forstweg Oberbürgle entlang. Weiter geht es über Bürgle bis zum Wegkreuz Bildstöckle (710m). Hier kann man sich zwischen dem kürzeren aber steileren Weg geradeaus entscheiden oder man biegt links auf den Familienwanderweg ab. Später kommen die Wege wieder zusammen und wir wandern weiter über Kühberg bis zur Bergstation (976m). Retour kann man den gleichen Weg nehmen oder per Seilbahn ins Tal fahren. Die Bahn fährt im 15-Minuten Takt bis 23 Uhr, Freitag und Samstag sogar bis 24 Uhr.

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Landbus Linie 47

Stadtbus Linie 7 vom Bahnhof Dornbirn zur Karrenseilbahn

Linie 8 (vom 1.5. - 31.10.) fährt vom Messegelände zum Karren

www.vmobil.at

Anfahrt

Von Norden aus Richtung München oder von Süden aus Richtung Innbruck kommend auf der A14 Rheintal-Autobahn, Autobahn-Ausfahrt Dornbirn Süd (Exit 18), den Kreisverkehr verlassen Sie in Richtung Dornbirn-Zentrum auf der L204 Lustenauer Strasse, bei der Kreuzung mit der L190 Landesstrasse gerade überqueren, nach ca. 1 km gemäß Hinweisschildern befindet sich die Karrenseilbahn Talstation.

Parken

Kostenpflichtige Parkplätze direkt bei der Talstation der Karrenseilbahn

Ausrüstung

Festes Schuhwerk empfehlenswert

Bodensee-Vorarlberg Tourismus GmbH