Homunculus

Homunculus

Heroes, myths and fairytales, told with a modern twist and magnificently interpreted using puppets – that is the Homunculus puppet theatre festival in Hohenems. Theatrical productions which delight the regular audience and guests alike have been staged here for over 30 years. Every year during may, the productions have a thematic motto specified by artistic director Susi Claus.

Homunculus

It’s only possible to appreciate how artistic and sophisticated puppet shows can be by directly experiencing a show at a puppet theatre. Amazement, reflection and laughter are as much a part of puppetry as Punch-and-Judy shows. The Homunculus can be about saving the world, about Hamlet or Anne Frank, about the Silence of the World or the Little Prince. The programme booklet contains plays for both adults and for families and children.  H

During the Homunculus Festival, the Löwensaal in Hohenems is transformed into a cultural high stage with puppet theatres and ensembles from Stuttgart, Berlin and across Europe. Competitions for young people and public voting are also usually held within the programme. For a few days, everything in Hohenems revolves around artistic interventions, from adaptations of children’s books for the stage to the question of whether to be or not to be. The Homunculus always plays the card of variety.

Dates

6 to 14 May 2021

Homunculus

Homunculus

Helden, Mythen und Märchen, modern erzählt und mit Puppen grandios inszeniert, das ist das Figuren-Theaterfestival Homunculus in Hohenems. Seit 30 Jahren finden hier Theaterproduktionen auf einer Bühne statt, die bei Stammpublikum und Gästen für Begeisterung sorgen. Jedes Jahr stehen im Mai die Produktionen unter einem thematischen Motto, von Intendantin Susi Claus vorgegeben. Während des Homunculus finden an jedem Tag zwei bis drei Vorstellungen statt, die die Zuschauer in eine aufregende Welt der „Puppen, Pointen und Poesie“ entführen.

Ein besonderes Puppentheater

Wie kunst- und anspruchsvoll Puppenspiele sein können, versteht man erst, wenn man selbst bei einem Puppentheater war. Staunen, lachen und nachdenken gehören zum Puppenspiel wie das Kasperl auf die Bühne. Es kann beim Homunculus ums Weltretten, um Hamlet oder Anne Frank, um das Schweigen der Welt oder den kleinen Prinzen gehen. Im Programmheft stehen sowohl Theaterstücke für Erwachsene als auch für Familien und Kinder.  

Während des Homunculus Festivals wird der Hohenemser Löwensaal zur Kulturhochbühne mit Figurentheatern und Ensembles aus Stuttgart, Berlin und ganz Europa. Meist finden im Rahmen des Programms Nachwuchs-Wettbewerbe und Publikumsvotings statt. Ein paar Tage lang dreht sich in Hohenems alles um künstlerische Interventionen, vom inszenierten Kinderbuch bis zur Frage nach dem Sein oder Nicht-Sein. Das Homunculus spielt wie immer die Vielfaltskarte.

Termine

6. bis 14. Mai 2021