21°C
Vorarlberg

Cultural events

Schubertiade Hohenems

Song recitals and classical music have a close-knit, discerning audience. It is impressive that not only this audience from all over the world has been reliably wending its way to Vorarlberg for such a long time – the stars amongst the world-class musicians have also been faithful to the exclusive festival for years. The Schubertiade now has its fixed venues in Hohenems (Markus-Sittikus-Saal) and in the Bregenzerwald (Angelika-Kauffmann-Saal, Schwarzenberg).

It was back on 19 September 1973 that the first concert took place in the great hall of the palace in memory of the 400th birthday of Count Caspar of Hohenems. Back then, the idea of a festival hosting the works of Franz Schubert in Hohenems started to form, followed by further musical performances featuring globally renowned chamber orchestras and singers such as Hermann Prey and Edith Mathis. The Schubertiade is considered as having been established in 1976, with Gerd Nachbauer and singer Hermann Prey responsible for the organisation of the programme during the early years. However, it was soon Gerd Nachbauer on his own who succeeded in leading the festival to glory, which before long achieved a remarkable, international reputation. Hohenems soon became an inside tip amongst music fans from all parts of the world, and it wasn’t long before it started receiving visitors from as far afield as the USA. In the absence of a better alternative for a big enough hall for orchestra concerts, and since the palace was out of service due to restoration works, the Schubertiade moved to different places for a few years. However, today it is at home in the Bregenzerwald and in Hohenems once again.

Under the direction of the founder of the Schubertiade, set as it is in the picturesque countryside of the Bregenzerwald, the works of Franz Schubert have a flair of their very own, the audience wends their way past grazing cows to the Angelika-Kaufmann-Saal in Schwarzenberg, the table is already reserved in one of the many restaurants providing a gourmet dining experience, people are familiar with and appreciate each other. Anyone who travels to Vorarlberg once – or even twice – a year in order to listen to Schubert’s song cycle or a string quartet interpreted by one of the contemporary stars of classical music, enjoys a loving connection with music and the country. Loyal music fans from the four corners of the earth also gladly meet up in Hohenems, where the former gymnasium has now been adapted especially for the occasion of the Schubertiade. Many of them can still recall the very first concerts in Hohenems. Once you fall in love with the Schubertiade, you cannot keep away – some visitors have been coming back for 40 years.

The best soloists, singers, string quartets, orchestras and choirs don’t need to be asked twice – the top-notch, special Schubert festival of global renown is proof of an excellent career, with the list of artists making guest appearances at the Schubertiade to date equalling a “who’s who” of the world of lieder and chamber music. These musical events have been first-rate ever since the start, the constant utilised capacity and continual extension of the programme between May and October (recipient of no subsidies incidentally) are clear signs that the requirements have been fulfilled. With around 80 events and 40,000 visitors annually, today the Schubertiade is the most renowned Schubert festival worldwide. Nowhere else will you find the globally best performers and such a high number of lieder evenings, chamber concerts and piano recital evenings exclusively by Franz Schubert. Orchestra concerts, readings and talks as well as the three museums are a great introduction to Franz Schubert’s works. A further exclusive service are the master courses offered by eminent artists which attract numerous new talents to the region.

Dates & contact

4 - 7 May
13 - 16 July
5 - 8 October

16°C
Vorarlberg

Kulturveranstaltungen

Schubertiade Hohenems

Liedgesang und klassische Musik haben ihr eingeschworenes, anspruchsvolles Publikum. Dass dieses seit so langer Zeit zuverlässig aus aller Welt nach Vorarlberg pilgert, ist mehr als aussagekräftig. Auch die Stars unter den Weltklasse-Musiker/innen halten dem exklusiven Festival lange schon die Treue. Inzwischen hat die Schubertiade sowohl in Hohenems (Markus-Sittikus-Saal) wie auch im Bregenzerwald (Angelika-Kauffmann-Saal, Schwarzenberg) ihre festen Häuser.

Markus Sittikus Saal © Schubertiade GmbH
Markus Sittikus Saal © Schubertiade GmbH
Markus Sittikus Saal © Schubertiade GmbH

Mehr über die Schubertiade

Es begann am 19. September 1973, als zum Gedenken an den 400. Geburtstag des Grafen Kaspar von Hohenems im Rittersaal des Palastes ein erstes Konzert aufgeführt wurde. Damals reifte die Idee eines Festivals für das Werk Franz Schuberts in Hohenems, weitere musikalische Aufführungen mit weltbekannten Kammerorchestern und Sängern wie etwa Hermann Prey oder Edith Mathis folgten. 1976 gilt als das Gründungsjahr der Schubertiade, Gerd Nachbauer und der Sänger Hermann Prey zeichneten die ersten Jahre gemeinsam für die Programmgestaltung verantwortlich, bald führte aber Gerd Nachbauer alleine dieses kleine Festival zu einem Ruhm, der rasch einen bemerkenswerten, internationalen Ruf erreichte. Hohenems wurde zu einem Geheimtipp unter Musikfans aus allen Teilen der Welt, selbst aus den USA reisten schon bald die ersten Gäste an. In Ermangelung eines ausreichend großen Saales für Orchesterkonzerte und weil der Palast wegen Restaurationsarbeiten nicht mehr zur Verfügung stand, zog die Schubertiade für einige Jahre an andere Orte, ist aber heute in Schwarzenberg im Bregenzerwald und wieder in Hohenems beheimatet.

Die Werke Franz Schuberts bekommen unter der Leitung des Schubertiade-Gründers in den malerischen Landschaften des Bregenzerwaldes ein besonderes Flair, das Publikum pilgert vorbei an weidenden Kühen in den Angelika-Kaufmann-Saal in Schwarzenberg, der Tisch in einem der vielen Restaurants mit Gourmet-Küche ist reserviert, man kennt und schätzt sich. Wer jährlich ein oder sogar zweimal nach Schwarzenberg und Hohenems reist, um Schuberts Liederzyklus oder ein Streichquartett, interpretiert von den aktuellen Stars der klassischen Musik, zu hören, den verbindet die Liebe zu Musik und Land. Auch in Hohenems, wo die ehemalige Turnhalle inzwischen einzig für die Schubertiade adaptiert wurde, finden sich die treuen Musik-Fans aus allen Teilen der Welt gerne ein. Viele erinnern sich noch an die ersten Konzerte in Hohenems, wer die Schubertiade einmal lieben lernte, kommt immer wieder – manche seit 40 Jahren.

Auch die besten Solisten, Sänger und Sängerinnen, Streichquartette, Orchester und Chöre lassen sich nicht lange bitten, das feine, besondere Schubert-Festival mit Weltruhm gehört in die gepflegte Biografie, die Liste der Künstler und Künstlerinnen, die bis heute bei der Schubertiade zu Gast waren, gleicht einem »Who-is-Who« der Lied- und Kammermusikwelt. Das Niveau dieser musikalischen Veranstaltungen lag von Anbeginn sehr hoch, die stetige Auslastung und kontinuierliche Erweiterung des Programms von Mai bis Oktober (nebenbei erwähnt ohne jede Subventionen) zeigen deutlich, dass sich die Ansprüche erfüllt haben. Heute ist die Schubertiade mit rund 80 Veranstaltungen und 40.000 Besuchern jährlich das renommierteste Schubert-Festival weltweit. Nirgendwo sonst findet man die besten Interpreten der Welt und eine derart große Anzahl von Liederabenden, Kammerkonzerten und Klavierabenden ausschließlich von Franz Schubert. Orchesterkonzerte, Lesungen und Vorträge wie auch drei Museen führen in die Welt und das Werk Franz Schuberts ein. Ein exklusives Angebot sind auch die Meisterkurse bedeutender Künstlerpersönlichkeiten, die zahlreiche Nachwuchstalente in die Region, eben nach Hohenems und Schwarzenberg locken.

Termine & Kontakt

4. bis 7. Mai
13. bis 16. Juli
5. bis 8. Oktober